April 8, 2006

Mexican Food Immersion

Posted in Finding Lyle at 9:02 pm by Brooke

I hadn't really thought about it until tonight when I was ordering dinner at Polvo's, a great Mexican place on S. 1st, but I have eaten more Mexican food in the 8 months that I have lived here than I have in the rest of my life combined I think. It is amazing the extent to which I have just started to rely on Mexican as the thing to eat when I can't figure out what to get. Today I had Eggs las Migas at El Chilito and then made myself a plate of nachos for a snack and then went to Polvo's and had some quesadillas for dinner (with a negra modelo).

Whenever visitors come I just naturally take them to Guero's because it's easy, fun, and good. I've been to Curra's a couple times too, and like it – but am NOT a fan of the avocado margarita – way too thick. I barely made it through half of one.

When I make scrambled eggs now I put them on top of a hot flour tortilla and load salsa on top. The greatest tragedy of my 2nd semester schedule has been that I don't get a break in classes until 1130, so I have missed the end time for breakfast tacos at the coffee joint across the street by 30 minutes.

And if I'm not drinking a local brew like independence or real ale – I'm drinking Negra Modelo or Dos Equis.

It is amazing really – I don't know why that fascinates me so much, I think I just didn't think my eating habits would change as drastically as they have. Still though, my favorite food in Austin is not mexican – it's Amy's Ice Cream… and in one week Lent will be over and I'll be able to have it again!

Leave a comment